top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChelsea Bailey

In the pit...

I recently ran across research from James Knottingham describing his view on how learning happens. It clams its like falling into a pit. When we first find ourselves in the pit, we are really not sure where we are, what we need to do, and how to even begin to get out of this pit! The cognitive conflict can be overwhelming. Today, I am overwhelmed as I only start to begin to realized that I don't know what I don't know and I'm unsure where to begin to even look to learn what I need to know to climb out of this pit. The walls are steep today! Knottingham's research talks about each strategy we learn is one step up the side of the pit. Do you find yourself in a pit of ideas and challenges that you have for your instruction? Find a friend and collaborate to help develop skills and strategies to climb to Eureka! Cognitive conflict is growth. Keep growing. For more information on the Learning Pit, follow this link: https://www.jamesnottingham.co.uk/learning-pit/.


3 views0 comments
bottom of page